core-banking.ai
Back to directory

Engine by Starling

Cloud-native next-gen · London · est. 2022

Starling Group subsidiary

Overview

Starling Bank's own core and digital banking stack, licensed to other banks as managed SaaS. The entity dates from 2022; the platform has been live at Starling since 2016. Engine publishes no list of connected payment schemes.

Fact base

As of Sep 2026 · public sources only

confirmednot offerednot publicly disclosed

Institution type

  • Tier 1 bank: confirmed
  • Tier 2/3 bank: confirmed
  • Challenger / neobank: confirmed
  • Fintech: not offered
  • BaaS / embedded finance: not offered

Region

  • UK: confirmed
  • Europe / EU: confirmed

Products

  • Current accounts: confirmed
  • Savings / deposits: confirmed
  • Lending: confirmed
  • Mortgages: confirmed
  • Cards: confirmed
  • Payments: confirmed
  • Wealth: not offered
  • Multi-currency: confirmed

Payment schemes

  • SEPA: not publicly disclosed
  • SEPA Instant: not publicly disclosed
  • TARGET2: not publicly disclosed
  • ISO 20022 native: not publicly disclosed

Deployment

  • Cloud-native: confirmed
  • SaaS: confirmed
  • Private cloud: not offered
  • On-premise: not offered

Compliance

  • ISO 27001: confirmed
  • SOC 2: confirmed
  • DORA statement: not offered

Reference clients EU/UK

  • Starling Bank
  • Salt Bank (Romania)

Pricing model

Subscription / usage-based managed SaaS; price points not disclosed.

Latest

Feb 2026: SBS Bank (New Zealand) signs a ten-year deal – Engine's fourth international client, implemented by Deloitte. Preceded by Tangerine (Scotiabank) in Nov 2025, Engine's largest deal to date, and a US subsidiary launched in Apr 2025.